EPSE Awards Winners 2013 Announced!

25 October 2013

Out of the 16 very successful projects submitted to this edition of Awards, the jury selected winners for the most innovative, sustainable and the best design project categories.

In the first category (innovation) the jury awarded Grotte de Salamandre project by SABIC. The fact that building integrated photovoltaic polycarbonate panel was used instead of glass in this project, the jury has recognized it as very innovative. Polycarbonate allows for free flow forms and is a very light, hence photovoltaic PC panel will find more extensive applications thanks to this innovation. The 2nd place in this category went to Rhizomatic Gateway over the Moselle River by DS Smith Plastics.

SABIC representatives with the Innovation Trophy

Protoshop Lamborghini by dott.gallina received the Sustainability Award. PC sheets employed in this project help to reduce conventional energy consumption by using the sun power to ensure the material’s efficiency. The 2nd place in the Sustainability category went to Dome of Visions by Bayer MaterialScience.

dott.gallina representatives with the Sustainability trophy

In the design category Student Residence by DS Smith Plastics won the 1st place. The jury found application of polycarbonate in this project as very original. It was a surprise to found interior design as an application for polycarbonate. However, jurors have emphasized that although the result was unexpected it was truly wonderful. Amway Plaza by Plazit Polygal was the runner up in this category.

DS Smith Plastics representative is handed over the design trophy from Prof. E. Kurylowicz

Professor Ewa Kuryłowicz (architect and Vice-President at Kuryłowicz & Associates Sp. z o.o.) handed over the trophies, brightly coloured artworks made in polycarbonate by the Italian artist Davide Dall’Osso.

Around 60 participants attended the Ceremony which was led by the EPSE President Jean-Philippe Coste. The key speaker Rosalie, a renowned German artist presented her various installations and artworks made out of polycarbonate.

Thijs Koppers, another prominent speaker and the EPSE Technical Committee chairman presented EPSE achievements in the recently established CE-Marking for PC sheets.

EPSE Awards is a biannual event and the 7th edition will take place in 2015.

EPSE Awards - Winning projects announced